You are here:HomeCorporates

Government offers 17 coal blocks to PSUs, invites proposals

Government offers 17 coal blocks to PSUs, invites proposals


New Delhi:

Initiating the process of allocation of coal mines, the government today invited proposals from PSUs (Public Sector Undertakings) for allotting 17 blocks to them, mostly for captive power plants.

"It has been decided to offer 17 coal blocks (14 coal blocks for end use i.e. for power and 3 coal blocks for mining) to different Government Companies/Undertaking (Central and State)," the Coal Ministry said in a statement.

The development comes in the wake of the government's repeated announcements to make policy for mines allotment transparent, following CAG terming potential losses of Rs 1.86 lakh crore to the exchequer on account of blocks allotment to 57 private firms without auction.

"The Ministry of Coal has initiated the process of allocation of coal blocks under the amended provisions of Mines and Mineral Development and Regulation Act and Rules framed thereunder.

"In the first round the Government proposes to allocate coal blocks to the Government companies/Undertakings (Central and State) for specific end use(power) and coal mining," the statement said.

The applicants have been asked to submit their proposals by January 30.

The blocks on offer are: Jilga-Barpali, Baisi, Banai, Bhalmunda, Kente and Kerwa in Chhattisgarh, Gowa, Pachwara South and Kalyanpur-Badalpara in Jharkhand, Mahajanwadi in Maharashtra, Kundanali-Laburi, Sarapal-Nuapara, Tentuloi, Chandrabila and Brahamani in Odisha, Gandbahera-Uhhenia block in Madhya Pradesh and Deocha-Pachami-Dewanganj-Harinsingha in West Bengal.

Story first published on: December 31, 2012 19:00 (IST)

For Profit Update,




Social Sharing


Market Data provided by © Accord Fintech.
© Copyright NDTV Convergence Limited 2016. All rights reserved.